Did you experience a car crash and fail to stop? You may face criminal charges in Houston. Hit-and-run charges are a serious offense in Texas.
If you receive a hit-and-run charge, you need the help of an experienced defense attorney. Depending on the specific circumstances of the event, you could even face felony charges. Don’t risk your future and freedom, contact Mary Conn Law today.
What is a Hit-and-Run?
A hit-and-run, also known as leaving the scene of an accident, violates Texas law. The law requires drivers to stop after an accident involving property damage, injury, or death.
Drivers must also remain at the scene of the accident. The exact obligations depend on the specific circumstances of the crash. Failure to do so is a hit-and-run. Leaving the scene of a crash is a criminal offense under Texas law.
Penalties for a Hit-and-Run Conviction
The penalties for a hit-and-run vary widely. Each case is different. For simply leaving the scene of an accident where minimal damage occurred, you will receive a misdemeanor charge. However, a hit-and-run involving death or serious injury results in a felony charge.
Therefore, hit-and-run penalties range from a small fine all the way up to 10 years in prison.
For example, if the hit-and-run incurred damage of less than $200 with no injuries, it is a Class C misdemeanor with a fine of up to $500. Likewise, if the hit-and-run caused a death or a serious injury, it is a felony with a sentence of up to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
How to Avoid a Hit-and-Run Charge After an Accident
Know the law! If you don’t want a hit-and-run charge, stay at the scene after a crash. Remember, a hit-and-run is a criminal offense.
If the police want to question you regarding a hit-and-run, you do not have to answer any questions without an attorney present. Often when the police see damage on a vehicle, they may ask questions about how the damage occurred. Do not talk to the police without an attorney.
If you admit to leaving the scene of an accident, they can charge you. However, without proof that shows you were driving the vehicle, they cannot charge you. Don’t put yourself at risk. Seek the help of Mary Conn Law.
Why You Need a Strong Defense for a Hit-and-Run Charge
Hit-and-run charges are serious. Especially if the crash caused harm to another person, you can face felony charges. The good news is you don’t have to face it alone. At Mary Conn Law, we’re experienced criminal defense lawyers in Houston, TX.
We know the law and the local court system. Our expert knowledge aids in your defense. We’ll help you navigate the complex legal system to achieve the best possible outcome.